MAGNUM TO BIG FOR McDonalds ???

It has already been twenty-five years since  Ola ice-cream makers introduced the Magnum. A revolution in ice cream design, since it “glued” for the first time in history REAL chocolate, and not cacao phantasy stuff, to the cold ice-cream.

A CLASIC IN THE HISTORY OF CONSUMPTION ICE
A CLASSIC IN THE HISTORY OF CONSUMPTION ICE

The excitement back in the day to find a snack-bar where they sold the first Magnum around runs  shivers trough my spine. It was a straight sensation as much as it was a straight hit. The high quality of the combined ingredients  lifted the quality of the cold package as a whole and was a pure feast for ice-cream lovers, taken into consideration that it is after all a factory produced ice-cream. The numbers sold worldwide of this of cold case on a wooden stick must be pure warmth for the board members of Unilever.

MAGNUM ON A STEAL POLE INSTED OF A WOODEN STICK
MAGNUM ON A STEAL POLE INSTEAD OF A WOODEN STICK

Keep this excitement in mind while we fast forward …….. 25 years in time, to ….. yes …….. TODAY. With a kind of old school buzz I head for the “Mc.Flurry Magnum White with Almonds” at my local Mickey D’s. It had been advertised all over Holland the last time, with bigger than live size Flurry’s on the billboards , and was driving me crazy, so I had to get my hands on it this time.

_DSC7623-1-2
THE IMAGE LOOKS SENSATIONAL

This sounds like a hard core Zombie movie, resurrection after 25 years and cold to the bone! We go live now at the counter of a local Mc.Donald in the Netherlands, in five, four, three, two and one ………Hello can I have a McFlurry White with almonds, …that’s 2 euros 25. She sets the  Mac Flurry machinery into motion,  the girl joggles with cup, cap, ice-cream and hardcore ingredients. In a jiffy she presents the evolution of the magnum that came down of its wooden stick after 25 years of glory to sit in a cup.

_DSC7617-1-2
IT REALLY MOVES PEOPLE

Back at my table I dig in the white landscape of indulgence.  Within tree scoops I know the verdict …… With great effort I manage to free my dental fillings from the sticky white chocolate pearls that are scattered throughout the fatty syrupy mass. The whole thing is a big swirl of tastelessness to the max.

HOW SAD AFTER 25 YEARS
HOW SAD AFTER 25 YEARS

What a sad tribute to the great Magnum after 25 years of pride and glory. With a kind of longing I think now of the Mc.Flurry GREEN TEA I recently ate in Japan. I sat at Mc.Donald’s first floor window at the skirts of Shibuya crossing  in Tokyo, taking in all of the new impulses that this city fires upon me, not in the least by the MATCHA or  GREEN TEA MAC-FLURRY in front of me.

IMG_7480-2
THE LADY IN GREEN MATCHES THE MATCHA McFLURRY

This soft Kermit like green color is most appealing and reflects for me the softness of this world city’s population, where the people in the metro do not speak a word !!! Yes, they travel in total silence from A to B, and sometimes to Mickey D’s. Here I sit looking over the city’s most busy ant-trail, tasting this odd flavor for the first time, a sweet strange awareness of green-tea-flavor I am just getting accustomed to after three weeks in this country. A delicacy on the tongue combined with the cold ice that cools the warm day. This flavor doesn’t hit a bell on my taste-pallet and therefor strange and nor easy to put at its place for me. But interesting enough among other fancy ice cream flavors on sale in this country of islands, like PLUM or TULIP ice.

IT LOOKS A BIT LIKE SHIBUYA CROSSING AT RUSH HOUR
IT LOOKS A BIT LIKE SHIBUYA CROSSING AT RUSH HOUR

We go back life to Holland, ……. the positive twist of the day is given by Michael, the Manager at hand at this Dutch MC. With a understanding attitude he listens to my reflections on the Magnum flurry and without any hesitations he offers me a free choice. I must say the Snickers version I choose wins again for me. Nice, thanks Michael.

And what about the McFlurry Magnum? Well the best tip I can give you is that when you are in the mood for one,  just buy an original Magnum and enjoy.

Keep it cool, the Dutch Cook.

Different Mc Flurry flavors      http://www.buzzfeed.com/mesposito/43-unusual-and-wonderful-international-mcflurry-fl-a1iz

Review in Dutch on the Magnum McFlurry     http://www.proud2bme.nl/Proud2B-eat/McFlurry_Magnum_review

McDonaald’s official McFlurry “Magnum white Almond” data-sheet         http://www.mcdonalds.nl/producten/desserts/mcflurry-magnum-white-almond-0

One thought on “MAGNUM TO BIG FOR McDonalds ???

Leave a Reply

